Title Image


Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts FAIA

The Medal for Lifetime Achievement is awarded to a single member each year in recognition of a lifetime of distinguished leadership and dedication to architecture, the profession, and the community. The medal is the Texas Society of Architects’ highest honor. It is awarded in memory of Llewellyn W. Pitts, FAIA, to publicly recognize architects who by their example and service have made significant contributions to the advancement of the profession and to the community.

Architecture Firm Award

Established in 1996, the Architecture Firm Award is presented to a single Texas firm that has consistently produced distinguished architecture and has contributed significantly to the profession and the community for a period of at least 10 years. This award is the highest honor the Texas Society of Architects can confer upon an architectural firm

O’Neil Ford Medal for Design Achievement

The O’Neil Ford Medal recognizes outstanding achievement in architectural design as exemplified in a body of work produced by an individual architect over a period of at least 20 years.

25-Year Award

The annual award recognizes one building completed 25 to 50 years earlier that hasstood the test of time by retaining its central form, character, and overall architectural integrity.

Cornerstone Award

Created in 1999, the Cornerstone Award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions that enhance the quality of life by elevating architecture and the arts, promoting the value of community, or preserving the natural environment.

Award for Community Service in Honor of John D. Pfluger FAIA

The T Award for Community Service recognizes a single individual member for an extended commitment to community service and/or significant contributions to the community evidenced in a positive impact on urban, environmental, or neighborhood issues.

Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions in Honor of Edward J. Romieniec FAIA

This award recognizes a single individual architectural educator for outstanding educational contributions

Award for Young Professional Achievement in Honor of William W. Caudill FAIA

The Award for Young Professional Achievement is awarded to a single architect member who has shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession in the early stages of his or her architectural career.

Associate Member of the Year

The Associate Member of the Year award is presented to a single Associate AIA member who best exemplifies the highest qualities of leadership and has demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to his or her local component, or to Texas’ membership through service to the profession and/or in the community.

Mentorship Award

Awarded to Texas Society of Architects members or Texas AIA components for developing unique programming for the successful development of Associate AIAs, or for an extraordinary effort to mentor and promote the advancement of these professionals at the local or state level.

Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Architecture through the Media in Honor of John G. Flowers Hon. AIA

This award recognizes an individual or organization for excellence in thepromotion of architecture through the media. Media can include print, radio/TV, web, and digital format

Citation of Honor

The Citation of Honor is awarded to individuals, groups, or organizations outside the profession whose activitiesmake significant contributions in supporting the creation of safe, beautiful, and sustainable environments in Texas.

Artisan Award

The Artisan Award is presented to individuals, groups, or organizations outside the profession whose artistry, talent, technique, diligence, creative insight, and collaborative nature support the creation of safe, beautiful, and sustainable environments and make significant contributions to the built and natural environment in Texas.

Honorary Membership

Honorary membership in the Texas Society of Architects is one of the highest honors the Society can bestow upon a person outside the profession of architecture. It is awarded to an individual for his or her long-term association with architects, architecture, or allied professions in providing a better quality of life in Texas.

Design Awards

Design Awards recognize outstanding architectural projects by architects practicing in Texas and promotes public interest in architectural excellence.

Studio Awards

Studio Awards recognize unbuilt projects demonstrating innovation and excellence in design. Real or theoretical projects that go beyond the boundaries of architecture to address current critical issues are encouraged.